Deleting files in the Finder does not immediately delete the file and free up space.
Think of the trash as more like a quarantine area, so you can recover files if you deleted them by mistake.
It's usually tied into Time Machine, where the OS keeps a local snapshot of files on the local disk before offloading them to external storage. While you might 'delete' the master/current copy of a file, it still exists in the snapshots, and will do until the snapshot is cycled to external storage or it ages out.
If I remember rightly, local snapshots exist for 24 hours before aging out, which means that the 'deleted' files are still on your drive for that long.
If you're absolutely sure you don't want to recover any of this data you can turn off Time Machine and (potentially dangerously) delete the snapshot data via Disk Utility (open Disk Utility.app, select your drive and check the APFS Snapshots list - the 'size' column indicates how much actual size/changed data exists in each snapshot):
